top of page

Welcome to the South Okanagan
Similkameen Teachers' Union

Quality Learning through committed, professional teachers!


Nominations for President have closed

Ernie Millward has been acclaimed as President of SOSTU for the 2024-25 school year. 

South Okanagan Similkameen Teachers' Union is a not-for-profit organization that seeks to foster and promote education in SD#53 public schools and promotes the professional development and welfare of its members.
SOSTU is ​a member funded society under the Societies Act of the Province of British Columbia. SOSTU is a small sub-local of the British Columbia Teacher’s Federation (BCTF) which represents 43,000 public school teachers in the province of British Columbia, Canada.

Who is included in SOSTU?

The South Okanagan Similkameen Teachers’ Union (SOSTU) is comprised of over 235 teachers employed in School District #53. The school district incorporates the Similkameen Valley and the South Okanagan Valley.  

We teach in 5 elementary schools (Cawston, OK Falls, Osoyoos, Oliver, Tuc-el-nuit,) and 3 secondary schools (SESS, SOSS, OSS) and 1 DL/Inclusion school ( 


Pro-D Documents

Explanation of the required Pro-D activities for the current school year

Please read these through before planning your Pro-D activities

Pro-D Funds Reimbursement

After completing your Pro-D activities, use this form to submit your expenditures!

Pro-D Funds Request

Fill this out prior to your Pro-D activities

Pro-D Workshop Funds Actual Expenditures

To be filled out by your Pro-D representative or chairperson for group activities

Professional Dev. Plan

Outline all of your Pro-D activities for the school year and submit to your Pro-D Rep

Latest Pro-D Meeting Minutes

October 17, 2023

June 12, 2023

November 14, 2022

bottom of page